Barry Byers

Coaches set for North-South game

bbyers@heraldonline.comMarch 1, 2013 

Dorman’s Dave Gutshall has been chosen as the North head coach for the North-South All-Star Football Game in December in Myrtle Beach.

Two local coaches were also named to the staff. Indian Land coach Mike Mayer was chosen as an assistant, and York’s John Moorefield was picked in the long-time assistant slot.

Gutshall led Dorman to an 8-4 record last year in his 20th season with the school. The Cavaliers have been to five state championships during his tenure, winning two (2000, 2009) and finishing as runners-up in 1994, 1999 and 2010.

Gutshall’s only losing season at Dorman was a 6-8 finish during his first year in 1993. However, the Cavaliers reached the upper state championship game before falling at Gaffney.

Gutshall’s other assistant coaches will be Phil Magdic (Greenville), Jerry Jackson (C.A. Johnson), and Scott McLeod (Chapin).

The South will be led by Gilbert’s Berry Harley. His assistants will be Jimmy Noonan (Wando), Kevin Crosby (Bamberg-Ehrhardt), Daryl King (Lake View), Steve Hall (Conway) and Carlisle Koonts (Hartsville).The South shut out the North 23-0 this past year, breaking a seven-year losing streak.

REGION 3-AAAA HOOPS: Region 3-AAAA annouinced its all region teams, and players and coaches of the year.

The Boys Coach of the Year is South Pointe’s Melvin Watkins. South Poine’s Anthony Johnson is the Player of the Year.

Northwestern’s John Bramlett was named girls’ Coach of the Year. His top player, Mariah McCoy, is the Player of the Year.

Boys team: Taylor Hoover, Clover, Arnaldo Toro, Clover; Harrison Lancaster, Fort Mill; Deuce Dunlap, Lancaster; Carson Smith, Nation Ford; Mason Rudolph, Northwestern; Nate Motley, Rock Hill; Jaylen Reid, Rock Hill; Anthony Johnson, South Pointe, P.J. Heath, South Pointe; DeShawAndrews, York.

Newcomer of the Year: Arnaldo Toro, Clover: Coach of the Year: Melvin Watson, South Pointe: Player of the Year: Anthony Johnson, South Pointe.

Girls team: Mariah McCoy, Northwestern, Aubriana Thompson, Northwestern, Aubriana Thompson, Northwestern; Taylor Yarborough, Nation Ford; Phoebe Johnson, Lancaster; Ze’Kiya Knox, Rock Hill, Asia Potts, Rock Hill; Elizabeth Edmunds, Clover, Aliyah Knox, Clover; Madison Hendrix, Fort Mill; Ariana Grevious, Fort Mill; Ashley Jaggers, South Pointe; Carrie Lee Lancaster, York.

Newcomer of the Year: Madison Hendrix, Fort Mill; Coach of the Year: John Bramlett, Northwestern; Player of the Year: Mariah McCoy, Northwestern.

WARRIORS AWARDS: The following student-athletes received awards at the Indian Land winter sports awards:

Wrestling: All Region 4-AA Awards – Tomas Seamon, Eric Komorous, Taylor Pendleton, Daylen Byerley, Devin Curtsinger. Most Outstanding Wrestler – Daylen Byerley; Most Dedicated – Eric Komorous; Most Pins – Taylor Pendleton; Most Improved – Devin Curtsinger; Mike Kersey Award – Dylan Deese.

JV Girls’ Basketball: Co-MVP – Bailey Penegar; Co-MVP – Ashely Shelton; Hustle Award – Ally Whoy’ Coach’s Award – Danielle Miller.

Varsity Girls’ Basketball: Coach’s Award – Kate Komorous; Warrior Award – Shlyn Doughtery; Most Improved – Kendra Nesmith; Team Spirit Award – Alexis McClure.

JV Cheer: Flyer Award – Caitlyn Loughry; Coach’s Award – Sarah Pineda; Warrior Award – Macy Chasserdu.

Varsity Cheer: Coach’s Award – Cadie Bockman; Most Valuable Cheerleader – Stephanie Psaroudris; Most Improved – Cameron Chandler; Most Spirited – Bri’ana Tisdale.

JV Boys’ Basketball: Coach’s Award – Manny McCord; Defensive Player of the Year – Austin Gordon; Offensive Player of the Year – Mark Morton.

Varsity Boys’ Basketball: MVP – Rakym Felder; Co-Offensive Player of the Year – Haydan Sawyer; Co-Offensive Player of the Year-Darnell Rogers; Defensive Player of the Year – Lee McCall; Most Improved – Conner Butler; Mr. Warrior Award-Myles Webb; 2 – All Region 4-AA Awards – Darnell Rogers, Haydan Sawyer; Region 4-AA Player of the Year – Rakym Felder; All State Basketball – Rakym Felder.

BOOSTER CLUB: The next meeting of the Indian Land athletic booster club will be Wednesday, March 20, at 7 p.m. at Indian Land Middle School. All members and non-members are invited to attend.

WALL-TO-WALL SOFTBALL: The Indian Land Warriors softball team will host its 10th annual 100 Inning Game on March16.

The Warriors will be playing 100 innings of softball for donations from their sponsors.

The day includes a home run derby and hamburger and hot dogs plates. The game begins at 10 a.m. and food is available throughout the day.

Barry Byers •  329-4099

The Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service