Winthrop’s Dequesha McClanahan named to Lieberman Award watch list

January 15, 2014 

Winthrop senior basketball standout Dequesha McClanahan is among 29 players who are included on the watch list of candidates for the 2014 Nancy Lieberman Award that recognizes the top point guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball, it was announced today by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

McClanahan along with the other candidates exhibit the floor leadership, play-making and ball-handling skills of Hall of Famer Nancy Lieberman.

“We are honored to have the opportunity to award a young athlete that shows the same sort of dedication to the game of basketball as the legendary Nancy Lieberman,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “This award is our chance to recognize some truly extraordinary point guards in women’s college basketball.”

McClanahan is a two-time Big South Conference Player of the Year and was voted the 2014 Preseason Player of the Year by the league’s head coaches and media panel. She is averaging 17.5 points and a league-leading 7.8 assists per game. Her assist total ranks her among the nation’s top five assist leaders. She is closing in on 2,000 points in her career, and she has already broken the Winthrop all-time scoring record for both the women’s and men’s programs.

A Selection Committee made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers has been appointed to review the candidates. The list will be narrowed down to a final 20 in February, and then the final five by March. The Lieberman Award winner will be announced during Final Four weekend activities.

“It’s amazing to be able to have my name associated with some of the best point guards and most well-rounded female athletes at the college level,” Lieberman said. “This is the first year the award is hosted by the Hall of Fame and I think candidates will be even more aware of how prestigious this honor is.”

Previous winners of the Nancy Lieberman Award include last year’s recipient Skylar Diggins (Notre Dame), Sue Bird (Connecticut), Renee Montgomery (Connecticut), Diana Taurasi (Connecticut), Lindsey Harding (Duke), Courtney Vandersloot (Gonzaga), Temeka Johnson (LSU), Kristi Toliver (Maryland), Ivory Latta (North Carolina), and Andrea Riley (Oklahoma State).

2014 Nancy Lieberman Award Watch List

Player name; School name

Kacie Cassell, University of Akron

Calli Berna, University of Arkansas

Odyssey Sims, Baylor University

Brittany Boyd, University of California

Bria Hartley, University of Connecticut

Senee Shearer, University of Detroit Mercy

Chelsea Gray, Duke University

Jerica Coley, Florida International University

Yashira Delgado, Florida State University

Damika Martinez, Iona College

Samantha Logic, University of Iowa

Lexie Brown, University of Maryland

Valencia McFarland, University of Mississippi

Ashley Deary, Northwestern University

Tiffany Bias, Oklahoma State University

Fantasia Hilliard, Sacramento State University

Keena Mays, Southern Methodist University

Amber Orrange, Stanford University

Natasha Cloud, St. Joseph’s University

Jamierra Faulkner, University of Southern Mississippi

Ariel Massengale, University of Tennessee

Jennifer Newsome, University of Tennessee at Martin

Jordan Jones, Texas A&M University

Andola Dortch, University of Toledo

Joanna Harden, Troy University

Jennifer Schlott, Utah State University

Chelsea Douglas, Wake Forest University

Rebecca Henricson, Western Illinois University

Dequesha McClanahan, Winthrop University

Women’s tennis picked to win Big South

For the ninth consecutive year, the Winthrop women's tennis team has been voted first in the Big South Conference's annual preseason poll by the league's head coaches, it was announced today by the Conference office.

The Eagles picked up eight first-place bids and 98 points in earning the No. 1 ranking. Charleston Southern claimed two first-place votes and 90 points to place second in the poll, ahead of Liberty's 74 points. In fourth with 70 points was Campbell, followed by Coastal Carolina with 68 points. UNC Asheville landed in the No. 6 slot with 47 points, while Radford's 35 points was good for seventh. Gardner-Webb was selected eighth with 34 points, while Longwood and Presbyterian College round out the poll tied for ninth place as each school notched 17 points.

Coach Cid Carvalho returns eight players from last year's Big South championship team. Senior Andressa Garcia will lead the veteran squad as she will look to finish her career with four titles and four NCAA tournament appearances. Also returning are juniors Ekin Gunaysu, Camille Amrami, and Monica Aguado, and sophomores Alice Garcia, Caitlin Cridland, Tijuana Uzelac, and Beth Williamson.

Winthrop will open its season at home on Feb. 8 when it plays host to College of Charleston. The Big South Women's Tennis Conference Championship is slated for Monday-Friday, April 14-18, and will be hosted by Gardner-Webb.

Men’s tennis picked third

The Winthrop men’s tennis team has been picked to finish third behind Coastal Carolina and Campbell in the Big South Conference’s annual preseason poll by the league’s head coaches.

Coastal Carolina picked up five first-place votes and 76 points to earn the Chanticleeers their first-ever preseason No.1 ranking. Campbell followed in second place with 60 points, just ahead of Winthrop which claimed two first-place votes and 57 points. Liberty landed the No. 4 slot with 51 points, while Presbyterian College’s 49 points was good for fifth. In sixth with 48 points was Radford, followed by Gardner-Webb with 26 points and UNC Asheville with 25 points. Longwood rounds out the poll in ninth place with 13 points.

Coach Andrew Stubbs’ Eagles will open the 2014 season on Thursday, Jan. 23, at home with a 3 p.m. match against Wofford. The Big South Men’s Tennis Conference Championship is slated for Monday-Friday, April 14-18, at Gardner-Webb.

The Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service