High school notes: Seven locals named All-State basketball

bmccormick@heraldonline.comFebruary 24, 2014 

Seven local kids, five boys and two girls, were named All-State in basketball Monday.

South Pointe duo Tyreece Brice and Anthony Johnson were named in Class AAAA. Brice and Johnson helped the Stallions to a perfect Region 3-AAAA season.

Chester’s John Gore earned All-State honors in Class AAA after helping the Cyclones to a Region 3-AAA championship.

Indian Land point guard dynamo Darnell Rogers was named All-State in Class AA. Rogers is averaging over 25 points per game for the Warriors, who host Keenan Wednesday in the third round of the Class AA state playoffs.

And Great Falls point guard Nigel Simpson was named All-State in Class A.

On the girls’ side, Lancaster’s Kyia Hough capped her return from a junior year ACL injury with All-State honors in Class AAAA. Hough will play at Western Carolina next season. She was joined on All-State by teammate Phoebe Johnson, who will play at UNC-Wilmington next season. The pair led the Bruins to their first Region 3-AAAA title since 2005.

All-State basketball


Class AAAA

Jameel Taylor, T.L. Hanna; Tyreece Brice, South Pointe; Jevante Gross, Irmo; Emarius Logan, White Knoll; Erick White, Sumter; Demetre Rivers, Stratford; D.J. Dobson, Bluffton; John Jenkins, Summerville; Dantez Bennamon, Goose Creek; Chandler Harrison, North Augusta; Javis Howard, Irmo; JJ Arcega-Whiteside, Dorman; Anthony Johnson, South Pointe; Jamez Rogers, Wando; Randall Shaw, Hillcrest.

Player of Year: L.J. Peak, Gaffney

Class AAA

Deebo Samuel, Chapman; Andrew Brown, Travelers Rest; Rion Davis, A.C. Flora; Quan Bovain, Airport; John Gore, Chester; Wes Johnson, Eastside; Quez Fisher, Travelers Rest; Frankie Johnson, Darlington; LaKeith Ingram, Hartsville; Xzavier Barmore, Seneca; Mil Hackett, Emerald; Brady Schuck, James Island; Rodney Keener, Hanahan; Solomon Cooper, Myrtle Beach; Matt Lindsey, North Myrtle Beach.

Player of Year: Tevin Mack, Dreher

Class AA

Marcus Stroman, Keenan; Keith Workman, Fairfield Central; Tyre Moore, Academic Magnet; Deriante Jenkins, Lake Marion; Maurice Howard, Saluda; Zach Parker, Mid-Carolina; Montell James, Edisto; Rocquan Frederick, Calhoun County; Terrance Frazier, Ridgeland-Hardeeville; Anthony Adger, Crescent; Alex Brown, Mullins; Darnell Rogers, Indian Land; Dyshane Murphy, Kingstree; B.J. Grevey, Bishop England; Bennett Wilson, Newberry.

Player of Year Deion Holmes, Chesnee

Class A

Tremon Bryant, Calhoun Falls; Hunter Bullock, Southside Christian; Nigel Simpson, Great Falls; Malcolm Stroman, Wagener-Salley; Christopher Harris, St. John’s; Travient Riley, Scotts Branch; Josh Franklin, Johnsonville; Darius Bryant, Calhoun Falls; Malik Harrison, Greenville Tech; Marques Sumner, Fox, Creek, Will Ward, Allendale-Fairfax; Dawayne Gadis, Cross; Tarik Jones, Timmonsville; Peter Goodman, C.A. Johnson; Tyrell Sabb, Latta.

Player of Year: Chris Turner, Denmark-Olar


Class AAAA

Iyanna Jones, Greenwood; Kyia Hough, Lancaster; Khaila Webb, Dorman; Cierra Carter, Spring Valley; Destinee Walker, West Florence; Sydney Shull, Dutch Fork; Deyja Brown, Colleton County; Ke’Asia Jackson, Irmo; Kionna Jeter, Spartanburg; Maya Jackson, West Florence; Tiama Swearinger, Greenwood; Mallory Stone, North Augusta; Heather Chapman, Summerville; Makayla Dudley, Cane Bay; Phoebe Johnson, Lancaster;

Player of Year: Dekeiya Cohen, West Ashley

Class AAA

Zipporah Scott, BHP; Jada Wallace, Broome; Khyrstal Ellis, Southside; Kaela Mansell, Airport; Keanua Williams, Crestwood; Keocia Walker, Myrtle Beach; Dejoria Howard, Orangeburg-Wilkinson; Senora Dengokl, Lakewood; Brittany Houston, Palmetto; Ross Mathis, Blue Ridge; Breshay Johnson, Lower Richland; ShaLeighya Sulton, Chapin; Bryanna Goodson, Wilson; Vondria Ritter, Orangeburg-Wilkinson; Americal Jenkins, Hilton Head.

Player of Year: Kaydra Duckett, Dreher

Class AA

Michele Boykin, Bishop England; Tyshanna Lester, Dillon; Cady Cole, Pendleton; Arnasia Boyd, Newberry; Dareisha Sowell, Andrew Jackson; Shaunice Fulmore, Lake City; Malia Rivers, Central; Daisja Cannon, Battery Creek; Brittany Williams, Kingstree; Jasmine Dameron, Blacksburg; Daquasha Williams, Ninety Six,; Alexis Foulks, Columbia; Jaleah Lasane, Mullins; Brittani McDonald, Mullins; Mary Harriet Moore, Bishop England.

Player of Year: Jada Martin, Fairfield Central

Class A

Narquevia Jennings, McCormick; Imani King, St. Joseph’s; Yashai Pauley; Tyeshia Clark, Blackville Hilda; Ta’Asia Wright, Denmark; Dashana Magwood, Baptist Hill; Takeria Legette, Latta; Alayshia Davis, Calhoun Falls; Kayla Cron, Brashier Middle College Charter; Demeatris Bryant, CA Johnson; Ta’Nauziah Corley, Wagener-Salley; Kemoni Jenkins, Whale Branch; Iesha Mitchell, St. John’s; Justice Gee, Timmonsville

Player of Year: Sade Eli, Timmonsville

• South Pointe’s Anthony Johnson and Lancaster’s Phoebe Johnson were both named to South Carolina’s roster for the Carolinas Classic all-star basketball game set for March 22 in Myrtle Beach. Willie Thomas (Lower Richland) and Mike Beasley (Blackville-Hilda) are coaching the boys squad against their North Carolina counterparts. Gail Johnson (Ridge Spring-Monetta) and Aubrey Pompey (Aiken) will coach the girls.

Boys roster

Tremon Bryant, Calhoun Falls; Wesley Johnson, Eastside; Keith Workman, Fairfield Central; Dantez Bennamon, Goose Creek; Javis Howard, Irmo; Marcus Stroman, Keenan; Brandon Stroman, Lower Richland; Anthony Johnson, South Pointe; Demetre Rivers, Stratford.

Girls roster

Michelle Boykin, Bishop England; Jada Wallace, Broome; Khalia Webb, Dorman; Kaydra Duckett, Dreher; Jada Martin, Fairfield Central; Iyanna Jones, Greenwood; Phoebe Johnson, Lancaster; Vondra Ritter, Orangeburg-Wilkinson; Cierra Carter, Spring Valley.

• Region 3-AAAA basketball coaches have released the league’s all-region teams:


Tyreece Brice, South Pointe; Anthony Johnson, South Pointe; Warren Vinson, Rock Hill; Clenzo Ross, Northwestern; Riley Hilton, Nation Ford; Deshaw Andrews, York; Jamil Simpson, Rock Hill; Devin Thacker, Fort Mill; Alex Thompson, Clover; Daurice Simpson, York; Mustafia Love, South Pointe; Stephon Whitlock, Rock Hill.

Coach of the Year: Melvin Watson, South Pointe

Newcomer of the Year: Japree Perry, Rock Hill; Malcolm Anthony, Northwestern

Player of the Year: Tyreece Brice, South Pointe


Phoebe Johnson, Lancaster; Aubriana Thompson, Northwestern; Asia Potts, Rock Hill; Ieshia Love, Northwestern; Arianna Grevious, Fort Mill; Telliya Patton, Clover; Taylor Yarborough, Nation Ford; Carrie Lee Lancaster, York; Deiona Davis, South Pointe; Elizabeth Edmunds, Clover; Paige Samuelson, Northwestern; Ally Abbott, Fort Mill.

Coach of the Year: Ronnie Robinson, Lancaster

Newcomers of the Year: Alixis Roccia, Nation Ford; Raven Byers, South Pointe

Player of the Year: Kyia Hough, Lancaster

• York head football coach Bobby Carroll has been named an assistant coach for the 2014 Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Bowl, formerly known as the North-South all-star football game. This is Carroll’s second all-star coaching appearance, after the 2011 Under Armour All-American game. Andrew Jackson coach David Moore is also on the North staff, which is led by Lower Richland coach Darryl Page.

The Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service