Winthrop Women’s Basketball

McClanahan a finalist for Lieberman Award

February 24, 2014 

  • 2014 Nancy Lieberman Award Candidates

    Odyssey Sims, Baylor University

    Jerica Coley, Florida International University

    Yashira Delgado, Florida State University

    Damika Martinez, Iona College

    Ashley Deary, Northwestern University

    Tiffany Bia,s Oklahoma State University

    Fantasia Hilliard, Sacramento State University

    Amber Orrange, Stanford University

    Natasha Cloud, St. Joseph's University

    Joanna Harden, Troy University

    Brittany Boyd, University of California, Berkeley

    Bria Hartley, University of Connecticut

    Moriah Jefferson, University of Connecticut

    Samantha Logic, University of Iowa

    Valencia McFarland, University of Mississippi

    Lindsay Allen, University of Notre Dame

    Jamierra Faulkner, University of Southern Mississippi

    Heather Butler, University of Tennessee at Martin

    Jennifer Newsome, University of Tennessee at Martin

    Andola Dortch, University of Toledo

    Jennifer Schlot,t Utah State University

    Dequesha McClanahan, Winthrop University

Winthrop senior point guard Dequesha McClanahan has advanced to the 22 watch list finalists for the 2014 Nancy Lieberman Award.

Named after Hall of Famer Nancy Lieberman, the award recognizes the top point guard in women's NCAA Division I college basketball. The original watch list of candidates was narrowed down to the below list of 22 by a nationally based committee and McClanahan, a senior from Oak Ridge, Tenn., was included.

With two games remaining in her regular season collegiate career, McClanahan has already shattered nearly every offensive record in school and Big South Conference history. She needs just 10 more points to become the all-time leading scorer in conference history. She has scored 2,145 career points and dished out 709 career assists. She has also grabbed over 600 rebounds and made more than 250 steals. She will honored along with teammate Tiffany Charles during pregame ceremonies during Senior Day on Saturday before Winthrop hosts Campbell at 1 p.m.

"We are honored to be recognizing these 22 athletes for their strengths, skills and commitment to the game of basketball and are excited to move forward in the selection process," Lieberman said. "All of these young women deserve to be on the list for this well-respected award and deserve recognition for their determination."

A premier Selection Committee made up of top college basketball personnel including Hall of Famers, media members, head coaches and sports information directors was appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the candidates. The list will be narrowed down to a final five by March and the winner will be announced during Final Four weekend activities.

Previous winners of the Nancy Lieberman Award include last year's recipient Skylar Diggins (Notre Dame), Sue Bird (Connecticut), Renee Montgomery (Connecticut), Diana Taurasi (Connecticut), Lindsey Harding (Duke), Courtney Vandersloot (Gonzaga), Temeka Johnson (LSU), Kristi Toliver (Maryland), Ivory Latta (North Carolina) and Andrea Riley (Oklahoma State).

The Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service