9 local students win National Merit awards

rsouthmayd@heraldonline.comMay 29, 2014 

  • More information

    National Achievement Scholarship Winners

    Nathaniel Brown, Rock Hill, Rock Hill High School

    Kristen Tucker, Rock Hill, Rock Hill High School

    Corporate-Sponsored Merit Scholarship Winner

    Meagan Bell, Fort Mill, Fort Mill High School

    National Merit $2,500 Scholarship Winners

    Arthur Lim, Lancaster, Charlotte Latin School

    College-Sponsored Merit Scholarship Winners

    Cormac Kelly, Rock Hill, S.C. Governor’s School for Science and Mathematics

    Nicole Randolph, Rock Hill, Northwestern High School

    Ethan Start, Rock Hill, Westminster-Catawba Christian School

    Abigail Hines, York, Clover High School

    Riley League, Rock Hill, Northwestern High School

Nine local students have been named winners of 2014 National Merit Scholarships.

Students from Rock Hill, York and Clover, and Lancaster County were selected as winners in four categories.

The competition for this year’s round of National Merit scholarships started in October 2012, when approximately 1.5 million high school juniors took the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Of those test-takers, only a handful were selected to be awarded more than $35 million in college scholarships

Rachel Southmayd •  803-329-4072

The Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service