School board filing closes, several races uncontested

08/15/2014 5:31 PM

09/29/2014 8:31 PM

Candidate filing officially closed Friday for school board elections in York, Chester and Lancaster counties, and several incumbents are running uncontested in York, Clover, Rock Hill, Chester and Lancaster.

In York, Seat 2 and Seat 4 incumbents Mike Smith and Betty Johnson, respectively, have no challengers, while the at-large seat features a three-way campaign.

Clover’s Joe Gordon, who serves in Seat 1, and Mack McCarter, who serves in an at-large seat, are both running unopposed.

In Rock Hill, board chairman Jim Vining has no challengers, while Seat 2’s Ginny Moe will face three challengers and Seat 4’s Jane Sharp faces two.

In Fort Mill, all board seats are at-large and four are up for election. Seven people have filed to run for those seats, including current chair Patrick White and incumbents Wayne Bouldin and Diane Dasher.

Lancaster, which added a seventh district this year, has unopposed races in Districts 3 and 5, and in Chester, the incumbent in District 6 is also running unopposed.

School board elections are non-partisan. Election Day is Nov. 4.

Editor's Choice Videos

Join the Discussion

The Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service