Moore, Johnson earn All-Big South honors

03/03/2014 6:46 PM

03/03/2014 6:47 PM

High Point swept the top two awards in the Big South men’s basketball superlatives released Monday morning.

High Point sophomore John Brown was named the league’s Player of the Year, while Panther head man Scott Cherry was named the Coach of the Year after guiding his team from a 4-11 start without one of its best players, to a regular season conference championship and the No. 1 seed in the conference tournament.

Winthrop landed three players on the All-Big South teams- Keon Moore, Keon Johnson and James Bourne. Moore, a redshirt junior, led the Eagles in scoring during the regular season and was named honorable mention All-Conference. Johnson, a true freshman who was Winthrop’s second leading scorer during the regular season, was named to the All-Freshman squad. And 6-foot-9 junior James Bourne earned All-Academic honors.

2013-14 Men’s basketball All-Conference

First-Team All-Conference

John Brown, F, R-Soph., High Point; D.J. Covington, C, Sr., VMI; Javonte Green, F, Jr., Radford; Rodney Glasgow, G, Sr., VMI; Andrew Rowsey, G, Fr., UNC Asheville.

Second-Team All-Conference

Warren Gillis, F, Jr., Coastal Carolina; Jerome Hill, F, Soph., Gardner-Webb; QJ Peterson, G, Fr., VMI; Jaron Lane, F, R-Sr., UNC Asheville; D.J. Cunningham, C, R-Sr., UNC Asheville.

Honorable Mention All-Conference

Elijah Wilson, G, Fr., Coastal Carolina; Tristan Carey, G, Sr., Longwood; Jordan Downing, G, R-Jr., Presbyterian College; Devante Wallace, G, Jr., High Point; Keon Moore, G/F, R-Jr., Winthrop.

All-Freshman Team

Andrew Rowsey, G, UNC Asheville; QJ Peterson, G, VMI; Elijah Wilson, G, Coastal Carolina; Keon Johnson, G, Winthrop; Tyrell Nelson, F, Gardner-Webb.

All-Academic Team

Paul Gombwer, F, Jr., Charleston Southern; Michel Enanga, F, Soph,, Coastal Carolina; Mike Byron, C, Sr., Gardner-Webb; Haiishen McIntyre, G, Soph., High Point; John Caleb Sanders, G, Sr., Liberty; Jeylani Dublin, F, R-Jr., Longwood; Kyle Noreen, G/F, Jr., Radford; James Bourne, F, Jr., Winthrop.

Player of the Year

John Brown, F, R-Soph., High Point

Freshman of the Year

Andrew Rowsey, G, UNC Asheville

Defensive Player of the Year

D.J. Covington, C, Sr., VMI

Coach of the Year

Scott Cherry, High Point

Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Mike Byron, C, Sr., Gardner-Webb

Great Falls’ Craig named All-Atlantic Sun for third time

USC Upstate's Torrey Craig became the eighth player in A-Sun history to land on the A-Sun All-Conference First Team on three occasions with his selection this season. Craig owns 2,084 career points - fourth-most all-time in the conference - as he averaged a league-best 16.9 points per game. His 7.1 rebounds per contest sits fourth-best, and he tallied 32.6 minutes per game, second-most among A-Sun student-athletes.

Mercer University’s Langston Hall was named the Atlantic Sun’s Player of the Year, while Mercer’s Bob Hoffman was named the league’s Coach of the Year.

Sports Videos

Join the Discussion

The Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service