Latest News

Big South Baseball Championship starts Tuesday at Winthrop

Coastal Carolina (47-7) is the No.1 seed in this week's Big South baseball championship to be held at The Winthrop Ballpark Tuesday through Saturday.

The Chanticleers, ranked No.4 nationally, earned the top seed in the conference tournament for the fourth consecutive season and the fifth time in the past six years.

Coastal Carolina won the regular-season championship with a 25-0 conference mark. The team was rained out Saturday at Radford in its regular-season finale. The Chants are just the second team in Big South history to go undefeated through the conference season, joining the 1988 Coastal Carolina club that finished 15-0.

Coastal Carolina's 25 Big South wins has set the league's season record, and the Chanticleers have won their fifth regular-season Big South baseball crown in six years and sixth in nine seasons.

Winthrop (25-28, 13-14 Big South) enters the tournament as the No.5 seed and will face No.8 seed Gardner-Webb at 7 p.m. Tuesday. G-W swept a three-game series from the Eagles this season. Winthrop took two of three games from the Liberty Flames last week in the final regular-season series for both clubs. A win by Winthrop would put the Eagles into the main bracket against the No.2 seed Flames at 3 p.m. Wednesday.

The first game of the championship will be played at 4 p.m. Tuesday and pits No.6 seed VMI against No.7 UNC Asheville. The winner could draw Coastal Carolina in the main bracket at 11 a.m. on Wednesday.

In addition to the start of main bracket play Wednesday, the Big South will announce the 2010 All-Conference teams in an on-field ceremony prior to one of the three games.

The championship game is set for 1 p.m. on Saturday.

Big South Baseball Championship

Today (Single Elimination)

Game 1: No.6 VMI vs. No.7 UNC Asheville, 4 p.m.

Game 2: No.5 Winthrop vs. No.8 Gardner-Webb, 7 p.m.


Game 3: No.1 Coastal Carolina vs. lowest winning seed from Games 1-2, 11 a.m.

Game 4: No.2 Liberty vs. highest winning seed from Games 1-2, 3 p.m.

Game 5: No.3 Radford vs. No.4 High Point, 7 p.m.


Game 6: Loser Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4, 11 a.m.

Game 7: Loser Game 5 vs. Winner Game 3, 3 p.m.

Game 8: Winner Game 4 vs. Winner Game 5, 7 p.m.


Game 9: TBA vs. TBA, 11 a.m.

Game 10: TBA vs. TBA, 3 p.m.

Game 11: TBA vs. TBA, 7 p.m.

Saturday - Championship

Game 12: Championship Game, 1 p.m.

Game 13: If necessary, Championship Game (immediately following Game 12)