From the moment Panthers TE Dante Rosario stretched across the line and lost the ball as he fell Sunday, the first thing I thought of was the Louis Murphy "go to ground" call in Oakland's Week 1 loss.
At any rate, asked the league for a clarification this morning, and here's what a spokesman sent back.
"The difference in the Carolina play is that Rosario completes the catch,
turns up-field and stretches the ball over the goal line before going to
the ground. He did not use the ground to complete the catch. In the
Oakland play, Murphy goes straight to the ground.
"Mike Pereira will be addressing this on his NFL Network segment
"Official Review" tomorrow night (also will be available on nfl.com)."
To me, that's an awfully semantic reading of the rule book. My main question is whether Rosario had possession for a second "football movement." Either way, all the gray area in this one just screams out for some clarification by the competition committee.
The Panthers used to have a representative in that august body, before owner Jerry Richardson fired his kids a few weeks ago.