Local Newsmakers - October 14, 2007

Herald staff reports

Clover teen invited to scholarship event

Cassie Black, 12, of Clover, was invited to the Pre-teen America Scholarship and Recognition Program in Greenville.

She received trophies for being top 25 semi-finalist, most knowledgeable and third runner-up. She received a bond and will travel to Baton Rouge, La., in July 2008 to compete for the Pre-teen National title.

The program recognizes girls ages 7 to 12 in academics, arts, school honors and awards, church and community involvement, knowledge and on-stage acknowledgment.

Cassie, the daughter of Cindy and Tommy Bees, is a student at Clover Junior High School.

Local veterans officer receives state honor

Pat F. Nivens, York County Veterans Affairs Officer, was selected as South Carolina Veterans Affairs Officer of the Year for 2006-2007 by the Disabled American Veterans of South Carolina.

Nivens was nominated by the past commander of Chapter No. 46, Richard Driskill, based on her devotion, loyalty to those requiring her assistance and for ensuring that veterans have competent professionals fighting for their benefits.

Nivens was recognized by the South Carolina House and Senate.

PMC volunteers honored at lunch

Piedmont Medical Center recently held its 2007 Volunteer Recognition Luncheon to honor its volunteer auxiliary for service to the hospital.

Volunteers have donated more than 18,000 hours this past year. Wilma Taylor was presented with the Hours of Love Award. Volunteers awarded lifetime membership were Don Conradsen, Charlton Kirkpatrick, Patty McGuire and Julia Willingham.

Service pins were presented to Paul Bagwell for 15 years; Toby Rowe, 9,000 hours; Joyce Elder, 7,500 hours; Priscilla Jennings, 7,000 hours; Paul Bagwell, 5,500 hours; Judy Fewell, 4,000 hours; Helen Bennett and Russel Kelley, 3,500 hours each; Edwina Jonas and Wilma Taylor, 3,000 hours each; Doris Bulkley, Laura Rosbrook and Margaret Simmons, 2,500 hours each; Bob Benson, Marie Schmid and Marion Shulgay, 1,500 hours each; Libby Baker, Delores Brownley, Pat Gillian, Dorcas Hinson, Frits Hodges, Mary Jo Holloway, Judy LoTruglio and Pat Swicegood, 1,000 hours each; Edith Alloway, Nancy Bright, Nancy Crews, Ruth Johansson, Mary Stephens, Lois Thomas, Mary Whittaker and Connie Zdenek, 700 hours each; Jane Bonham, Bertha Helms, Judy Hicklin, Elizabeth Howell and Pat Lewis, 400 hours each; and Vanessa Blake, Jane Ivey, Johanna Jansen and David Malbourgh, 100 hours each.

To volunteer, call 329-6828 or visit www.piedmontmedical

York County officer honored with state award

York County wildlife officer Sgt. Richard "Todd" Campbell was honored by the S.C. Department of Natural Resources as the 2007 Statewide Officer of the Year during a ceremony in Columbia.

Campbell is a part of the Draper Fish Rodeo, a project he took on his own. This past year, more than 750 people attended the event, in which three lifetime hunting/fishing licenses are issued to children.

He raised $6,000 from private sources to help fund the annual event.

Campbell has already made 235 cases, assisted on 188 others, issued 135 warnings, gave 42 presentations, worked 357 night hours and has accomplished many other things.

DNR Officers of the Year, including the statewide title, are selected by a committee of key DNR law enforcement personnel and captains and are rated in six categories.

The DNR is an agency that protects and manages South Carolina's natural resources.

Sevel local recipients awarded arts grants

Several small arts grants were awarded by the Arts Council of Rock Hill and York County for the second quarter of the year.

The recipients are: Nation Ford High School, theater department; Michael J. Simpson, individual artist; Main Streets of Old Town, public art installation; Catawba Care Coalition, three-county art project; GrupoLatino de Rock Hill, dance; John Myers, individual artist; and Harriet Goode, individual artist.

Small grants are available to individual artists, non-profit organizations and schools. The program provides support for small or pilot arts activities, artist professional development, new and developing programs or organizations and special projects.

The council allocates $4,000 to small grant awards each quarter. Organizations and artists may request up to $1000 per grant and may receive up to two grants a year. Applications for the January to March 2008 period are due Dec. 1. Details and applications are available by calling 328-2787 or visiting

Three are re-elected to Marion Sims board

Local attorney David R. Blackwell, educator Miriam M. "Mim" Boucher and business executive Stanley D. Johnson were re-elected to three-year terms to the J. Marion Sims Foundation's board of trustees. Their terms began earlier this month.

Blackwell has served as mayor of Kershaw and president of the Lancaster County Council of the Arts. Boucher, an instructional specialist for the Lancaster County School District, is a former teacher and principal. Johnson, chairman and CEO of Kanawha Insurance Co., is a member of the Lancaster Rotary Club.

The foundation's mission is to support programs and projects of prevention and education that enhances the health of Lancaster County residents and the Great Falls and Fort Lawn communities.