Local Newsmakers - March 30, 2008

Cameron Kirby creates trail, earns Eagle rank

Cameron Kirby of Rock Hill will be awarded Eagle Scout rank today at an Eagle Scout Court of Honor ceremony held at Westminister Presbyterian Church Chapel.

For his Eagle project, Kirby, a sophomore at Catawba Westminister Christian School, constructed a 3.1-mile cross-country course and walking trail at Westminister Park on India Hook Road. He led a project team of 30 volunteers through 331 hours of work, creating a course that was selected as the best course in Westminister Catawba Christian School's athletic conference.

Kirk is an honor student, a member of the school's cross country team, the school band's drum major and Beta Club president. He will attend the Hugh O'Brien Leadership conference this summer at The Citadel as one of two Westminister Catawba student ambassadors.

Kirby has earned 21 merit badges and served as den chief for Westminister Presbyterian Church Cub Scout Pack 205. He recently recieved the United States Presidential Volunteer Service Award.

Kirby is the son of Pam and Kyle Kirby of Rock Hill and the grandson of Sylvia and Jim Kirby or Rock Hill and Shirley and Ray Morrison of Clover.

Sullivan dancers earn honors in Columbia

Sullivan Dance Studio competed at the International Dance Challenge in Columbia on March 15. Dancers received four first-place overall awards, three second-place overall awards and two third-place overall awards. Other awards included, eight platinum awards, nine sterling silver awards, three high gold awards and 12 gold awards.

The Senior tap large group and mini jazz company competed in the entertainment challenge competition division. The senior jazz large group received the best technique award. The mini jazz company and senior tap large group received awards for excellence.

Individual awards were: Hannah Hart, National Dance Week scholar; and Morgan Abercrombie, Star of tomorrow.

Soloist in the semi-final competition were Ana-Cathryn Bigham, Emily Goins and Amanda Voges.

The studio received the only choreography awards given at the competition for the following routines: the junior company's, Trigger; Ana Cathryn Bighams's solo, Around You; Emily Goins' solo, Dear Friend; and Ana-Cathryn Bigham and Emily Goins' duet, Sophistocated Ladies.

Competitive dance students are Morgan Abercrombie, Cleo Agdaca, Olivia Anderson, Sydney Anderson, Callie Bailey, Jordan Barnes, Monte Behr, Ana-Cathryn Bigham, Kristyn Blackwood, Caitlyn Brooks, Tamryn Chisholm, Riley Cina, Ashley Cunningham, Breanna Driggers, Brooke Ferguson, Joey Funderburk, Emily Goins, Anna Goldstein, Hannah Hart, Ashton Hipkins, Rebekah, Hix, Tori Keaton, Dani Lewis, Lauren Locke, Katie Logue, Bria McCullough, Bronwyn McDaniel, Brittany Miles, Reaghan Miller, Precious Neely, Hayley Potter, Alexis Price, Holly Queen, Taylor Rea, Erin Riddle, Logan Starnes, Mackenzie Summers, Bethany Totherow, Amanda Voges and Emma Williams.

Sherri Sullivan-Thompson is the studio's instructor/choreographer.