Looking Back - June 6, 2008

Celebrating diversity is the theme of the 22nd annual Freedom Fund celebration, to be hosted by the Rock Hill branch of the NAACP Saturday night.

Speakers with diverse backgrounds, from Vietnam to the Catawba Indian Nation, are scheduled to deliver remarks. The NAACP will honor community members who have demonstrated excellence in faith, business, leadership, community relations and education, said branch president the Rev. Herbert Crump.

"I believe people are afraid of each other simply because they don't know each other," Crump said. "Martin Luther King said, 'If we don't learn to live together as brothers, we'll die together as fools.'"

A reception will begin at 6 p.m. Satuday at the Freedom Center, 215 Main St. Dinner and awards will follow at 7 p.m. Speakers will include Father Adilso Coelho, Linh Le, John King, Catawba Chief Donald Rogers, Daniel Ballou, Erica Roman and Wanda Carr.

Coelho and the Rev. Mike Lowery will receive faith awards. Business awards will go to Stacey Glannatos and Margaret Roseborough. Elaine Copeland and Steve Love will receive leadership awards.

The community relations awards will go to Central City Optimist Club and the Community Hoops youth program. Al Leonard and Saundra Booker will receive education awards and Derrick Lindsay will be named the 2008 W.B. Laney Award winner.

Donations of $30 for adults and $10 for youth attendees are requested. Proceeds go to fund community projects. For details, call Susie Hinton at 366-2184 or 327-1645.