York Co. legislative delegation to pick judge, review parks grants

Rep. Gary Simrill, R-Rock Hill
Rep. Gary Simrill, R-Rock Hill

The York County Legislative Delegation will hold a public meeting Monday night to select a new judge and review state recreation grant applications for the cities of Rock Hill, Tega Cay and Sharon.

The delegation under South Carolina law selects the master-in-equity circuit judge. Unlike most states, South Carolina legislators, not voters, select judges.

The master-in-equity handles civil cases, many involving property claims and disputes. York County lawyers Teasa Weaver and David Simpson are the two candidates. Current master-in-equity Judge Jack Kimball is retiring in June.

The delegation has 13 members who serve York County in the state Senate and House of Representatives. Rep. Gary Simrill, R-Rock Hill, is the delegation chairman.

The parks part of the meeting concerns state money used to build parks in municipalities. Rock Hill, Tega Cay and Sharon all have applications under review.

The meeting is at 6 p.m. at the York County Council chambers, 6 S. Congress St., York.