Enquirer Herald

Clover AD lauds academics, booster club at ceremony

Carroll Hester, athletic director at Clover High School, brought into focus the significance of academic performance and booster club involvement during the school’s winter sports awards program held last week.

Hester began the ceremony by reading aloud the names of CHS student-athletes making the A-B honor roll.

“More than half of the 135 winter sports participants made the first semester honor roll,” noted Hester.

In recognizing the student-athletes for academic and athletic performance, Hester said, “Their success at Clover High School will be determining factors in their success in life.”

Hester spoke in glowing terms of CHS Athletic Booster Club volunteers. The Clover AD encouraged the parents of athletes in all sports to support the boosters.

Hester noted that the booster club contributes financially to all the athletic teams and the more than 500 athletes at the high school.

He said volunteers are needed to assist in producing the football program and manning the conecession stands at home football games.

“Football program and concession stand proceeds benefit the total athletic department,” explained Hester.

While lauding the athletes in attendance, both Hester and school principal Dr. Tommy Schmolze paid tribute to CHS coaches for their dedication and commitment.

“The coaches impact the players and the players impact the coaches,” Schmolze said. “I hope the parents reallize the passion our coaches have in coaching their kids.”

Awards recipients included:

Varsity girls basketball: Iron Eagle Award - Logan Ballard; Blue Eagles Award - Bria Huffman; and Coach’s Award - Tanaya Pettus.

Varsity boys basketball: Best Offensive Player - Cody Bauer; Best Defensive Player - Aaron Miller; Most Improved - Darius Harris; and Blue Eagle Award - A. J. Williams.

Wrestling: Most Valuable Wrestler - Josh Finigan; Coach’s Award - Andrew Brown; Most Improved - Philip Burrows; and JV Wrestler of the Year - Michael Thoroughman.

Varsity cheerleading: Most Spirited Cheerleader - Allie Deyton; Soaring Eagle Stunting Award - Joy Gannaway, Taylor Langford; Eagle Pride Honor Award - Taylor Shirley; Clover Cheerleading Leadership Award - Linda Ngo; and Blue Eagle Cheerleading Award - Katie Bailey.

JV cheerleading: Most Improved - Anya Jones, Megan Comalander.

JV boys basketball: Blue Eagle Award - Keenan McCoulley, Daquahn Brice.

JV girls basketball: Coach’s Award - Jamie Ussery; and Hustle Award - Rachel Carico.

Ninth-grade boys basketball: Blue Eagle MVP - Nayquan Wilson; and Most improved - Ta Long.