Enquirer Herald

York, Clover honor school teachers of the year

The York and Clover school districts have announced school-level representatives for the 2011-12 Teacher of the Year. Each school winner will now be considered for the district Teacher of the Year honor.

• In York, the teacher honorees and their teaching areas are:

Robbin Hogue, Floyd D. Johnston Technology Center, building construction; Beverly Whitaker, preschool disabilities, Cotton Belt Elementary; Diane Brown, Hunter Street Elementary, art; Jennifer Sexton, York Intermediate, science; Wendy Wingard-Gay, York Comprehensive High School, English; Juliette Bennett, Hickory Grove-Sharon Elementary; Jackie Danko, York Middle; and Traci Clinton, Harold C. Johnson Elementary.

• In Clover, the teacher honorees and their teaching areas are:

Carrie Wise, Bethany Elementary, fourth grade; Libby McMahon, Bethel Elementary, second grade; Kelly Davis, Blue Eagle Academy, middle level; Nick Fave, Clover High, science; Sandra Sullivan, Clover Middle, SOAR; Jane Tucker, Crowders Creek Elementary, first grade; Andy Carter, Griggs Road Elementary, third grade, Stacie Hoops, Kinard Elementary, kindergarten; Lesli Ann Howell, Larne, special education; and Cory Dover, Oakridge Middle, chorus.

In York, the school-level Teacher of the Year representatives will now submit a portfolio that includes a resume, response to professional questions and evidence of professional leadership.

Each teacher was to be interviewed this week by a panel that will choose the district-level winner, who will be named at the May 8 York school board meeting. All the teachers will be honored in a dinner at York Comprehensive High School before the board meeting.

In Clover, a team of judges, including community representatives, will evaluate the school teacher of the year honorees and choose the 2012 Clover district Teacher of the Year, who will be named during convocation in August.