Enquirer Herald

Clover school district honors board members

The Clover school district will join school districts throughout the state to celebrate School Board Recognition Month in January.

More than 630 elected and appointed school board members throughout South Carolina will be recognized by schools and communities for their service and dedication to public education.

The Clover district will honor the members that serve on the school board by donating library books at each of the schools’ media center in their names. Each school’s donation is valued at $300. The men and women serving the Clover School District are: Mack McCarter, chairman; Melanie Wilson, vice-chair; Franklin Pendleton, Sherri Ciurlik, Joe Gordon, Barbara Parrish, and Liz Johnson. The theme of this year’s celebration, “School Boards: Locally Owned and Operated Since Forever,” reinforces the roles and responsibilities of school boards and the ownership they take for governing their local public schools. They are elected by the people in their local communities to represent their voice and vision for their public schools.

“The foundation of school leadership is ensuring equal learning opportunities for all students,” says Superintendent Dr. Marc Sosne. “We’re proud of our district, and School Board Recognition Month is the time to recognize and celebrate the accomplishments of our elected trustees.” In the Clover School District, school board members must develop policies and make tough decisions on complex educational and social issues impacting the community.

Board members volunteer their time and work for the benefit of the students, staff and community without compensation. They bear responsibility for an annual budget of more than $60 million, more than 6,600 students, nearly 1,000 employees, and 10 school buildings.