Enquirer Herald

2 Clover schools take top honors in S.C. Lego competition

Two teams from Clover captured the South Carolina FIRST LEGO League State Championship at White Knoll High School Saturday.

Bethany and Bethel Elementary Schools were competing against 78 other teams for top honors.

The league is a program designed to encourage students to be engineers and researchers on issues that face society. This year’s theme, Senior Solutions, required students to to design, build, and program a robot to complete missions on a competition table that would address issues faced by seniors.

Team 5581, Bethel Botics, placed first in the research category. Their project focused on a product they created called the Blipper, a device to help seniors with balance. Students on the team indicated that as people age they may lose their balance because of changes in the brain and ears. The Blipper is designed to fit over the shoe to help seniors keep a better footing. Most current products on the market either require seniors to buy new shoes or additional items to help with balance.

The Bethel team contends the Blipper is more cost effective as it works with existing shoes that seniors already own.

Student members of the team are Sam Bangert, Adam Bouchama, Lauren Gilkeson, Nathan Nishimuta, C.J. Stefanco, Kaitlyn Suddee, Kaylee Williams, and Regan Zierverink. The program is under the leadership of Todd Goff, Monica Roveri, and Patricia Smith.

Team 7130, Bethany Bot Builders (B3), placed second in the research category. Their research project focused on a QR code system for prescription medications. The QR codes would be linked to a document that would be easy for seniors to read and would include information about their prescription, including directions for use and other information they may need.

The document is color coded and organized in a manner that would be easier to understand.

Student members of the team are Jake Arnett, Matt Courtwright, Austin Clark, Logan Hughes, Calista Laird, Lauren Talley, Shelbi Russell, Bailee Hicks, Matthew Thoroughman, and Will Grier. The program is under the leadership of Laura Falls and Melissa Jackson.