Enquirer Herald

Western York County re-elects York, Clover mayors, chooses Sharon council

Eddie Lee
Eddie Lee

Voters in western York County returned longtime mayors in York and Clover to office in Tuesday’s races and elected four Sharon Town Council members.

In York, incumbent Mayor Eddie Lee easily won a fourth term in a replay of the 2011 York mayoral race. With 70 percent of the vote in, Lee received 346 votes, about 70 percent, over challenger Dan Warren, who received 146 votes, about 30 percent.

Warren, 51, a retired York firefighter, had challenged Lee, 60, for the second time in four years, arguing there is a need for change at York City Hall.

“It’s an honor to be able to be re-elected and I appreciate the hard work of a lot of people,” said Lee. “We are delighted.”

Warren said voters had spoken and he was fine with that decision. “We left it up to the community and let them make a decision, and I have no problem with that.”

In the Clover mayor’s race, incumbent Mayor Donnie Grice, 49, defeated a challenge from Town Council member Debbie Williams, 40, who had mounted a write-in campaign.

Grice said Wednesday that he wanted to thank “the good people of Clover who supported me through this election. I had a tremendous amount of support and I appreciate that. Now it’s my turn to return that, and I’m honored to be able to serve the community, this town, for another two years.”

Williams, who also ran for Clover Town Council, and four other incumbent council members were re-elected, while newcomer Amy Moses was elected. The other incumbent council members are Todd Blanton, Jay Dover, Ann Harvey and Wes Spurrier.

“I appreciate every supporter,” Williams said. “We ran a clean campaign, and my head is still high.” She congratulated Grice on being elected and she would continue to work with him as a Town Council member.

The Clover Town Council race was uncontested, with six candidates and six seats, but it was on the ballot because incumbent Granita Boyd withdrew after initially filing to run.

In the Sharon Town Council race, the four leading candidates were incumbents Bob Barnett and Jerry Bradham and challengers Thomas Childers and Donald Kropp. Two other incumbents, Elaine Cheek and Bobby Stephenson, were trailing.

The uncontested McConnells mayors race, in which James F. Love Jr. was elected, was also on the ballot, because Sonny Metker filed and withdrew. The Town Council race, in which Bill Covington, John Harshaw III, William H. Nance and Kenneth Patrick were elected, also was uncontested.

In the York mayor’s race, Lee had pointed to accomplishments that include leading a campaign to save York’s historic courthouse, for which he was honored with a state historic preservation honor, and dogging York County leaders to finish the long-delayed S.C. 5 Bypass widening.

Grice, elected to a seventh two-year term, said his leadership in Clover has included managing town construction projects that include the fire department, police department and new town hall. He said he helped the town save nearly $1 million on those projects.

Jennifer Becknell: 803-329-4077