Fort Mill Times

Group, church give $5,000 in scholarships

Group awards $1,000 scholarship

The Chapter T/Lake Wylie P.E.O., a philanthropic organization dedicated to the education and advancement of women, presented its 2014 $1,000 scholarship to Mary Katherine Macinnis during Clover High School’s awards ceremony on May 29.

Macinnis will attend Clemson University in the fall. She will major in biology with a goal of becoming a transplant surgeon. She is the daughter of Marianne and Mark Macinnis of York.

P.E.O. was established in 1869 and has evolved into one of the oldest nonsectarian, community based organizations with nearly 6,000 chapters in each of the 50 U.S. states, District of Columbia, and in six Canadian provinces.

Church foundation gives $4k in scholarships

River Hills Community Church Foundation provided four scholarships for $1,000.

Recipients are Sydney Morgan Wood, Derek Moore, Hannah Mace and Mary Elizabeth Trainer.

Scholarships were presented by George Gessner, scholarship committee member for Clover High School.

Students were chosen after interviews by members of the foundation scholarship committee. Awards are given to local students regardless of their church memberships and are open to students from public, private and home schooled.

Dellinger to attend Clemson

Anastasia Chrysanthie “Annie” Dellinger, daughter of Henry and Donna Dellinger, graduated from Clover High School in June and will attend Clemson University majoring in business.

She achieved academic honors and consistently made the A-B honor roll. She was a member of DECA, National Honor Society, Environmental Club and Choraliers, placing first in All-State choir and NATS competitions. She was a River Hills Shark team member and is now employed as a lifeguard.

She is the granddaughter of Tess Sagos and the late Gus Sagos.

3 local students graduate Erskine College

Three Clover students graduated May 24 with the Erskine College class of 2014 at the school’s 169th commencement.

Earning bachelor’s degrees are Bryson Anthony Bottini, biology; Leslie Anne McGill, chemistry; and Amanda Holly Richmond, history.

Erskine will be celebrating its 175th anniversary this fall.

There were five co-valedictorians including two from York County: Cate Elizabeth Cardinale of Rock Hill and Laura Elizabeth Jobe of Fort Mill, who also received the Mary Mildred Sullivan Award.