Fort Mill Times

Coffman awarded doctorate

Coffman awarded doctorate

Brett Coffman of Fort Mill was awarded a doctorate of philosophy from Kansas State University recently.

Local students graduate from Furman

The following local student all made the dean’s list for the most recent semester at Furman University.

From Fort Mill: Whitney Becker, daughter of Mr. Michael Becker and Janet Becker; Andrew Gaulden, son of Mr. John Gaulden and Marsha Gaulden; Maddison Hall, daughter of Mr. and Ms. Jeffrey Hall; Graelyn Humiston, daughter of Kelly Humiston and Karl Humiston; Chelsea Jasper, daughter of Mr. Craig Jasper and Michele Jasper; Kristen Marakoff, daughter of Mrs. Katherine Marakoff and Mr. Jeffery Marakoff.

From Indian Land, Samy Dorgham, son of Ms. Yelena Dorgham and Mr. Abdel Dorgham.

From Tega Cay: Bryan Betts, son of Mr. Wallace Betts and Ms. Kasey Betts; and Nathan Koverman, son of Mr. and Ms. Rick Koverman.

Lisk on president’s list

Dillon Lisk of Fort Mill was named to the president’s list at Union University in Tennessee for the most recent semester.

Burden awarded scholarship

Diana Burden of Fort Mill was awarded the Everett and Trudy Suddreth Scholarship of Excellence in the amount of $2,500 from the Carolinas Food Industry Council. Burden is a recent graduate of Fort Mill High School. She plans to attend Clemson in the fall.

Howland earns degree

Robert William Howland Jr., son of Robert and Yvonne Howland of Fort Mill, graduated May 10 from Coastal Carolina University with a Bachelor of Arts in commutations and a minor in journalism. He has been excepted to the MBA program at Coastal Carolina and will continue his education in the fall.

Herbert graduates with honor

Logan Herbert was awarded a Bachelor of Science in chemistry and also won the Bishop Robert Smith Award – the highest honor awarded at the College of Charleston.

Bishop Robert Smith Award winners are selected by a committee composed of the provost, the executive vice president for student affairs and former award winners. The BRS was established by former President Theodore Stern to recognize seniors who exceptional demonstrate leadership and academic excellence.