The Sullivan "Stock Market Team" of David Casey, Charles Johnson and Ben Oliver placed second in the region out of 134 teams and placed fifth in the state out of more than 300 South Carolina teams. The Stock Market Competition is sponsored annually by the S.C. Council on Economic Education. The boys received a trophy at an awards luncheon at the Columbia Convention Center on May 10. Ben gave a speech on the benefits of the school competition.



Amy Cabaniss was recently presented with a scholarship from the South Carolina Sheriff's Association. The award, presented by York County Sheriff Bruce Bryant, was based on her academic achievement, extracurricular involvement and civic-mindedness. Her winning essay was written on gang prevention in York County.


Coastal Carolina University

Elizabeth Jane Vickery, a 2004 graduate of Northwestern High School, has been inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma, the honor society for students enrolled in collegiate business programs. Induction into Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest scholastic recognition at Coastal Carolina's Wall College of Business. She also has been named to the chief of staff position for the Wall Fellows for spring semester 2008. The Wall Fellows Program is a unique organizational program offered through the Wall College of Business and is designed to prepare top business students for high-level careers in major U.S. and international corporations and organizations. Students are chosen for the Wall Fellows Program through a rigorous application process in the second semester of their sophomore year. Elizabeth is beginning her six-month Resort Tourism/Wall Fellows internship with the Crowne Plaza Resort at Hilton Head Island.

Charleston Southern University

Lisa Dover from Rock Hill recently received a Bachelor of Science in political science.

Clark Auld from Rock Hill recently received a Bachelor of Arts in religion.

The following student awards were presented during the recent graduation ceremony: Sabrina L. Horton, Myrtle E. Hamrick Award for character; Amanda N. Hobson, the John A. Barry Scholar Award for scholastic achievement; Melissa K. Gore, the Carolyn Killen Hunter Outstanding Christian Teacher Endowed Scholarship and Award.

Clemson University

Tyler Bratton of York has accepted membership in the National Society of Collegiate Scholars. He will be honored during an induction convocation this fall at Clemson University. Membership is based on grade point average and class standing for first- and second-year college students. Tyler is the son of David and Lisa Bratton.

Chrystal Haire, a rising sophomore, was named to the President's List for the 2006-2007 school year. Chrystal, daughter of Jeff and Wenonah Haire, is majoring in nutrition and pre-medicine. She is a graduate of Westminster Catawba Christian School.

University of Notre Dame

Brittany Sajbel, daughter of Jerry and Julie Sajbel of Fort Mill, recently graduated with a bachelor of arts degree and a double major in English and sociology. She was inducted into the Alpha Kappa Delta and Sigma Tau Delta International honor societies in sociology and English, respectively. While at the university, she participated on the mock trial team and finished her senior year at the national championship as an All-American Attorney. This summer, Sajbel will work for the Teach for America program -- the national corps of top college graduates who commit two years to teach in urban and rural public schools and become lifelong advocates for educational excellence and equity. Sajbel joins the 2007 corps along with other outstanding college graduates chosen from nearly 19,000 applicants. She will attend intensive training institutes in Atlanta and New York City before beginning teaching high school mathematics next fall in Charlotte, as well as earning her master's degree in mathematics education from UNC-Charlotte. Sajbel is a 2003 Fort Mill High School graduate.

University of South Carolina

Holly Griffin Gillespie, daughter of Mike and Judy Griffin of Rock Hill, recently received a law degree, cum laude, from the university's School of Law. She also was one of three students to receive the Compleat Lawyer Bronze Award in recognition of her performance in law school, her relationships with students and professors and her potential to be an outstanding lawyer. Students receiving this award possess the highest standards of ethics, integrity and professionalism. Gillespie is a graduate of Rock Hill High School and Winthrop University.

York Tech

Area students who received President's awards at graduation include: April A. Faulkenberry of Kershaw; Jason S. Moore of Fort Mill; Bryant C. Moss of York; Jennifer C. Osborn of Rock Hill; Kira A. Smerdon of York; and Leslie J. Wright of Lancaster.


Founders Federal Credit Union recently honored the 2007 Laura M. Fleming Scholarship recipients during the credit union's annual meeting held at the Baxter Hood Center at York Technical College.

Four recipients were chosen from more than 30 applicants. The four recipients are Allison Vaughn from Lancaster High School, Jonathan Rivers from Buford High School, Jennifer Green from Northwestern High School and Robin Winchester from Lewisville High School. Each recipient will receive $1,000 per year to attend the college or university of his or her choice.

The Laura M. Fleming Scholarship Fund was established by Founders Federal Credit Union in memory of its former president and CEO. The purpose of the scholarship fund is to provide undergraduate scholarships to the children of Founders Federal Credit Union members to attend an accredited college, vocational or technical school of their choice. It provides funding to gifted future leaders, in the spirit of Founders' former leader.

For more education news, including dean's lists and Who's Who lists, visit