Open house will be today: Kindergarten through second grades -- 6 to 7 p.m.; and third through fifth grades -- 7 to 8 p.m.

A PTO meeting will be held 6:30 p.m. Thursday


Second-grade orientation will be at 7 tonight in the second-grade classrooms. Topics discussed will be school and classroom rules, procedures and questions parents may have. Refreshments will be served.

Safety Patrol members for 2007-2008 are: First semester -- Carolyn Cagle, Hailee Epps, Alexia Allen, Brooke Adams, Brandon Croutch, Jon'Paul Montgomery, Zach Carter, Kayla Philbeck, Ariel Flores, Haley Lefler, Christian Hyatt, Logan Hill and DonRabia Judge; second semester -- Valerie Gillespie, Eli Irizarry, Abby-Grace Reynolds, Alice Strickland, Gabrielle Moseley, Christian White, Jordan Williams, Denzel White and Stephanie Anspach.

Old Pointe

A PTO meeting will be held at 6 tonight.

Fall pictures will be taken Wednesday.

The fall fundraiser will begin Wednesday.

Sunset Park

JaMorris Watkins has been added to the safety patrol for the first nine weeks.

Fall intersession classes will be held Sept. 24 -28 for all students in grades K through 5. Registration and payment for ExCEL classes are due Sept. 12.

For more information, call Cassie Cagle at 981-1273.


Limestone College

The following local students were named to the honor roll for the 2007 spring semester: Amanda Davidson Combs, Jacquelyn Walker and Roger Yarbrough, all of Clover; and Nicole Robinson Boatwright, Shemekia Cunningham and Janie Marie Sullivan, all of Rock Hill.

Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary

Jeffrey W. Shealy of Lancaster, Master of Divinity degree; Ashley G. Williams of Rock Hill, Master of Arts in Religion degree; Elise T. Stringer of Rock Hill, Master of Divinity degree.

York Tech

Kirk Adams has been awarded a $1,000 scholarship from the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. The Coca-Cola Two-Year Colleges Scholarship program recognizes students attending colleges that grant two-year degrees for their commitment to academics and to their community. To be considered for the scholarship, students must demonstrate academic success and take part in community services activities.

Adams is pursuing an associate's degree in computer engineering. He has received two certificates -- A+ and Network+ certifications and is preparing for a CCNA certification this summer. Adams also was named to the Phi Theta Kappa South Carolina All-State Academic Team.

He is a member of Phi Theta Kappa and served as the chapter president in 2006 and 2007. He served as the chapter's vice president in 2005 and as the Phi Theta Kappa Carolina Region president in 2006. He is employed by the York school district as a computer technician and operates his own computer business.


South Carolina Governor's School for Science and Mathematics

Cuchulain Kelly of Rock Hill and Sarah Lancaster of York have been accepted to the school. They will join 62 other students from 25 counties as the class of 2009.

Kelly is the son of Edward and Deirdre Kelly, and Lancaster is the daughter of David and Debbie Lancaster.


St. Anne Catholic

Back-to-school informational meetings will be: 6:30 tonight for sixth through eighth grades; and 6:30 p.m. Tuesday for first through fifth grades.


Desiree Lynn Kinneer of Fort Mill has been named state vice president of the South Carolina FFA Association. A 2007 graduate of Indian Land High School, Desiree is the daughter of Robert and Sherri Kinneer.

Laura Deas and Katelin Hinnant, both of York County, each received a Clemson University Presidential Tray and a $1,000 scholarship at a recent awards banquet during state 4-H Congress at Clemson University.