School board approves new Rock Hill administrators

The Rock Hill school board approved the appointment of three new elementary school principals Monday night.

Chris Beard will be the new principal at Ebenezer Avenue Elementary School, following the resignation of principal Johneka Williams. Beard has been the principal at Mount Holly Elementary School since it opened in 2006. Prior to that, he was the principal at Mount Gallant Elementary School for 6 1/2 years.

Rhonda Kelsey will move from an assistant principal position at India Hook Elementary School to the principal position at Ebinport Elementary, which was vacated earlier in the summer when former principal Shane Goodwin became principal at Sullivan Middle School.

Sullivan’s position opened when former principal Mike Waiksnis left in the late spring to become a co-administrator at a middle school in the Rowan-Salisbury School System. His fellow co-administrator is former Mount Gallant Elementary School principal Latoya Dixon.

Dixon’s position at Mount Gallant will be filled by Jacob Moree, an assistant principal at Old Pointe Elementary School.

The board also approved three assistant principal positions. Kenneth “Andrew” Williams will be assistant principal at Northwestern High School, and J. Kevin Davis will be an assistant principal at Sullivan Middle School. Karen “Kay” Owens was named assistant principal at Richmond Drive Elementary School. She was formerly an instructional specialist with the district.

The administrative shuffle leaves several vacancies to be filled before the school year starts in just a few weeks. Mount Holly Elementary still needs a principal now that Beard is moving to Ebenezer Avenue Elementary, and India Hook Elementary School will need a new assistant principal to replace Rhonda Kelsey. Sullivan Middle School also still has an assistant principal vacancy.

The first day of school in Rock Hill is Aug. 20.