High School Sports

State championships up for grabs for local teams, wrestlers

The South Carolina High School League has two championships for the state's wrestlers.

One is the individuals championships, which crowns a winner in all 14 weight divisions in each of the four classifications.

The other is the team championships, the state duals, which begin Monday for the teams in Class AAAA.

Two Herald-area teams are home in the opening round, two on the road.

Fort Mill, which beat Rock Hill 31-26 on Jan. 24 to win the Region 3-AAAA title, hosts Mauldin and Rock Hill, which got the region's No. 2 seed, is home against Boiling Springs.

South Pointe, the No. 3 seed, travels to Dorman. Clover, the fourth and final seed awarded to the region, travels to Hillcrest, the No. 1 team in Class AAAA.

In winning the region, Fort Mill is assured of home matches in the first four rounds. The state championship is Feb. 9 at Ridge View, with the Upper State winner meeting the Lower State winner at 6 p.m.

Fort Mill (17-1) is led by two defending individual state champions, John Green and James Brotemarkle. But the Yellow Jackets are solid top to bottom with a lineup that includes Mike Medema, Max Simons and Mac Wells.

The Yellow Jackets moved from No. 5 in the state to No. 3 with their win over the Bearcats, who dropped from No. 4 to No. 5.

Rock Hill (26-2) has regained respectability under first-year coach Cain Beard. The Bearcats are led by the Beck brothers -- Weston, Seth and Chad -- Reggie Jeffcoat and Jody Helms.

South Pointe (No. 8) and Clover (No. 16) are teams on the rise.

The Stallions, in only their second year of varsity wrestling, are led by defending state champion Jake Mitchell. South Pointe is coached by Eddie Cook.

Clover, which has steadily improved under coach Mike Fitzgerald, is led by Zach Neubert.

The second round is Wednesday. The only team that knows its next opponent is Rock Hill. If the Bearcats win, they travel to Greenwood, which got a bye.

Unless the schools agree on a time change, matches are scheduled to begin at 7 p.m. Tickets are $5.


Upper State

Wren (4) at Lexington (1)

South Pointe (3) at Dorman (2)

Greenwood (1) bye

Boiling Springs (3) at Rock Hill (2)

Clover (4) at Hillcrest (1)

T.L. Hanna (3) at Irmo (2)

Mauldin (4) at Fort Mill (1)

White Knoll (3) at Westside (2)

Lower State

Spring Valley (4) Fort Dorchester (1)

Wando (3) at Conway (2)

Beaufort (4) at Dutch Fork (1)

Hartsville (3) at Goose Creek (2)

Berkeley (4) at Sumter (1)

Ridge View (3) at Summerville 2)

Stratford (1) bye

Battery Creek (3) at Richland Northeast (2)

The top four teams in each region qualified. Higher region finish will host in each round. If two teams meet and have the same region seed, the bracket will determine the seed.