High School Football

High school notebook: Robles to take over Bearcats’ boys’ soccer

Rock Hill High School athletics director Bill Warren announced three new additions to his coaching staff Tuesday morning, including new boys’ soccer coach Cesar Robles.

It was only announced Monday evening that Robles had stepped down as the coach of the Northwestern girls’ soccer program, which he led for 10 seasons. Tuesday, Robles was unveiled as the new head man for Bearcats soccer, taking over for Wayne Clark who stepped aside after four years. Robles was the Region 3-4A coach of the year in 2005, 2012 and 2013 and coached in the North-South All-Star game in 2012.

“We are excited to add Cesar Robles as our head boys’ soccer coach,” read Warren’s emailed statement. “He brings leadership and experience to our soccer team. His ability to teach fundamentals and integrate tactical strategies into the game are his strong points as a coach. We welcome him to the Bearcats family.”

The other two new coaches are David Willis, who takes over the cross country program, and Scott Neely, who will coach boys’ tennis. Willis had a successful running career at Fort Mill High School, winning the state title with the Yellow Jackets in 2006 and finishing runners-up in 2007. He went on to run collegiately at Eastern Kentucky University, winning four consecutive conference championships. Willis replaces Lu Reeves, who stepped down after one season as Rock Hill’s head coach.

Neely takes over the boys’ tennis program after serving as Christine Wesson’s assistant coach last season. Wesson will focus solely on the girls’ team.


• The York Post 66 Junior Legion baseball team won the District Five Conference regular season championship. Post 66 finished 9-3 and earned a first seed home game in the American Junior Legion baseball playoffs, which begin July 7. Post 66 will face the the fourth seed from District Six at 7 p.m. at the York Comprehensive High School baseball field.

• USA Today released its All-State baseball teams Tuesday and Northwestern head coach Mitch Walters was named the state’s coach of the year. Indian Land’s Mike Webb, Northwestern’s Josh Crump and Rock Hill’s Chase Watts were named to the first team. Fort Mill’s Jaden Savage was named to the second team. See the full listing here http://www.usatodayhss.com/amfam/article/2013-14-all-usa-south-carolina-baseball-team.