High School Football

Moose Wallace, Johnny Roscoe included in 2015 SCFCA Hall of Fame class

Former Northwestern and Lewisville football coach Jimmy Wallace is heavily involved with the planning of Rock Hill PRT's annual youth football clinic.
Former Northwestern and Lewisville football coach Jimmy Wallace is heavily involved with the planning of Rock Hill PRT's annual youth football clinic. Special to the Herald

Longtime local high school football coach Jimmy Wallace is part of the 2015 South Carolina Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame class.

It’s just reward for Wallace, commonly known as “Moose,” a nickname he picked up while in high school at Rock Hill High. Wallace was a head coach for 28 years combined at Lewisville and later Northwestern, winning four state titles and sending countless players to the college and NFL ranks. He now is an ardent proponent and devotee of Heads Up Football, a USA Football program that he travels the country teaching to football coaches.

Another coach with local ties joined Wallace in this year’s class, former Lancaster skipper Johnny Roscoe. He led the Bruins to some of their best accomplishments during his lengthy tenure at the school. Roscoe retired at Lancaster in 2005 after winning 134 games in 21 seasons, and playing for two state championships.

Roscoe is still coaching in North Carolina at Northern Guilford High School where he has won four state titles since launching the program from scratch in 2008. The school named its football stadium after him in 2013.

Wallace, Roscoe and the other 2015 inductees will be honored Friday, Dec. 11 in Myrtle Beach.

Doug Bennett

▪ Coached Sharon and Swansea: 1953 – 1990 (37 Years)

▪ Won 265 games and three state championships

▪ Coached three state runner-ups

▪ In 1987 and 1991 honored as Region 3 (Southeastern US) Coach of the Year

▪ The football field at Swansea is named the Doug Bennett Stadium

Shell Dula

▪ Coached Ninety Six, Union and Greenwood: 1977 – 2008 (32 Years)

▪ Won 253 games and six State Championships at three different schools

▪ Recipient of the Order of the Palmetto in 2009

Bettis Herlong

▪ Coached Saluda, Aiken, Orlando- Fla., Johnston and Strom Thurmond, Brookland-Cayce and Saluda: 1950 – 1980 (30 Years)

▪ Won 197 games and a state championship at Brookland-Cayce

▪ Upper State champions at Saluda in 1955 and 1956

▪ Executive Secretary of the SCACA 1970 – 1993

▪ Saluda High Stadium was named the Bettis G. Herlong, Jr. Stadium in 1997

Leon Maxwell

▪ Coached Latta, St. Stephens and Banberg-Ehrhardt: 1952 – 1992 (40 Years)

▪ Won 297 games and two state championships

▪ Coached eight state runner-ups

▪ Southeastern National Coach of the Year

Johnny Roscoe

▪ Coached Forbush, NC, Bonds-Wilson, Hartsville, Lancaster and Northern Guilford, NC: 1975 – Present (37 Years)

▪ Won 293 games and five state championships – one in S.C., and four in N.C.

▪ 2013 Stadium at Northern Guilford was named for him

Billy Seigler

▪ Coached L.B.C., Camden Military, Hartsville and Hanahan: 1950-1972 (22 years)

▪ Won 192 Games before his untimely death at the age of 47

▪ Inducted into the S.C. Athletic Hall of Fame in 1984

▪ In 2013 Hartsville named their football field Coach Billy Seigler Field

▪ In 2013 Hanahan High School dedicated the Billy Seigler Victory Bell at Wiley Knight Stadium

Bill Tate

▪ Coached Timmonsville: 1973-2008, 2012 – present (39 Years)

▪ Won 317 games and two state championships

▪ Coached nine state runner-ups

▪ First African-American head coach in the Shrine Bowl – 2004

▪ In 1999 Timmonsville’s stadium renamed The William “Bill” Tate Stadium

Jimmy “Moose” Wallace

▪ Coached Lewisville and Northwestern: 1981 – 2011 (28 Years)

▪ Won 286 games and four state championships

▪ Coached five state runner-ups

▪ Coached 39 years in S.C. high schools

▪ Master Trainer for USA Football

Virgil Wells

▪ Coached Mayo and Wilson: 1954-87, 1988-92 (38 Years)

▪ Won 262 games and nine region championships in a row

▪ Eighteen years in a row without a losing season in football, basketball and baseball

▪ Week of Oct. 12 proclaimed “Virgil Wells Week” by Mayor of Darlington.

Cecil Woolbright

▪ Coached Winyah, Latta, Cardinal Newman and Chapin: 1950-1981 (31 years)

▪ Won 182 games and two state championships

▪ Chapin plays on Cecil Woolbright Field

▪ Two of his three sons followed him into coaching as well as his first grandson