Fort Mill Times

School news: Clover High cheerleading team wins gold

Clover High School Unified Cheerleading team gold medalists from left are Vicky Wise, Kristen Ciurlik, Dottie Hope, Alex Turner, Maddie Thomas, Sam Pope and Brynda Poole.
Clover High School Unified Cheerleading team gold medalists from left are Vicky Wise, Kristen Ciurlik, Dottie Hope, Alex Turner, Maddie Thomas, Sam Pope and Brynda Poole. Clover High School

CHS cheerleading team wins gold

The Clover High School Unified Cheerleading team brought home the gold medal May 23.

The group placed first in the Special Olympics Cheerleading Championships for Area Eleven Special Olympics.

Team members are: Vicky Wise, Kristen Ciurlik, Dottie Hope, Alex Turner, Maddie Thomas, Sam Pope and Brynda Poole. Team coach is Denise Satterfield.

OMS awards Golden Eagle Award

Every year, Oakridge Middle School awards an eighth grade male and female with the Golden Eagle Award.

Recipients must participate in two athletic teams at the school and demonstrate qualities of a leader, positive attitude and academic excellence.

The recipient for Golden Eagle Award is Camden Largen, who excelled in basketball and soccer.

The Lady Golden Eagle Award is Sophie Sprouse, who excelled in volleyball and softball.

Both were recognized in front of the student body, presented a plaque and names permanently displayed outside the gymnasium.

Local students graduate Clemson

Clemson University held commencement ceremonies May 8 with almost 3,000 students receiving degrees in three ceremonies, including Lake Wylie and Clover students.

▪ Lake Wylie: Dylan Spenser Byrd, Cum Laude with a bachelor’s in computer science; Adam Spencer Edge bachelor’s in computer engineering; Mick James Francis, master’s in civil engineering; Lauren Emily Hemmingsen, summa cum laude bachelor’s in bioengineering; Lauren Michele Muscatell, bachelor’s in financial management; Bryanne Leigh Sidwell, bachelor’s in wildlife and fisheries biology.

▪ Clover: David Scott Applegate, bachelor’s in economics; Raegan Christine Ashley, bachelor’s in management; Brown Davis Boyd, bachelor’s in management; Stephen Albertjohn Burks, bachelor’s in elementary education; Angela Frick Conder, master’s in nursing; Mackenzie David Gallien, bachelor’s in environmental and natural resources; Kevin Joseph Hart, bachelor’s in civil engineering; Bethany Taylor Ledford, magna cum laude bachelor’s in animal and veterinary sciences; Alexander David McElwee, bachelor’s in environmental and natural resources; Kelsey Michelle Monteith, bachelor’s in English and bachelor’s in secondary education; Haydan Caitlyn Smith, bachelor’s in chemistry; Christian Patrick Spiecha, bachelor’s in industrial engineering; Ellen Daum Westmoreland, bachelor’s in marketing.

Mekler graduates Wofford College

Brian Harris Mekler of Lake Wylie received a bachelor of arts degree in finance during the May 17 Wofford College commencement ceremonies.

Mekler is the son of .Mark and Amy Mekler. There were 368 graduates.

River Hills church preschool enrolling

River Hills Community Church Preschool is enrolling students for the 2015-2016 school year.

Spaces are open for ages 3 and 4. Call 803-831-5043 for more information, or visit

Farm Bureau offers scholarship

York County Farm Bureau is accepting applications for its annual annual scholarship program through June 30.

The $1,000 scholarship, awarding $500 per semester, is given each year to a student pursuing higher education in agriculture or a related field, after finishing a first semester at a four-year college or university.

The scholarship will be awarded to a York County resident based on character, demonstrated leadership and dedication to agriculture or a related field.

Applications are available at the York County Farm Bureau. Call 803-684-4235 for details.

Lions offering $3,000 for exchange program

IE The River Hills/Lake Wylie Lions Club is offering a new award for Clover High School students.

A member of the class of 2017 can earn up to $3,000 in airfare and tuition to participate in the 2016 S.C. Lions Summer Youth Exchange, which provides an opportunity to promote cooperation through friendship among American and international future leaders.

Interested 10th-graders may pick up applications at the school guidance office. Applications are due Aug. 28.

The selected recipient will be announced by Oct. 13. Students will be judged on academic standing, community service and a self awareness essay.

Financial hardship counts up to 30 percent of the judging.

Host blood drive, earn scholarship

▪ High school and college students can win a scholarship by hosting an American Red Cross blood drive June 1-Aug. 31 through the Leaders Save Lives program.

The Leaders Save Lives program encourages community-minded 16- to 24-year-olds to host blood drives to help maintain the blood supply during the summer. Students who participate as a blood drive coordinator are eligible to win a scholarship up to $2,500 for higher education and to earn a gift card.

Ten scholarships will be awarded via drawing to students who achieve 100 percent of their blood drive collections goal. All students who achieve the designated blood drive goal will receive an electronic gift card to

For more information and to register to host a Leaders Save Lives blood drive, visit

▪ The Community Blood Center of the Carolinas is calling on high school and college students for its seventh annual Students Saving Summer Scholarship Program.

Students who organize and host a successful blood drive with CBCC June 1-Sept. 30 have the chance to earn scholarship money for their secondary education. The top five producing blood drives each receive a $1,000 scholarship from CBCC. Since 2009, CBCC has awarded more than 300 scholarships and grants.

To be eligible for the scholarship, students must choose a location, recruit donors and collect a minimum of 25 units of blood. Each student will be paired up with a CBCC representative who will provide assistance with planning the blood drive. The CBCC scholarship donation must be directly transferred to the college, university or other learning establishment of each winner’s choice.

For more information or to register, call 704-972-4727 or email