High School Sports

High school notes: Wancheck, Hart, take home statewide awards

Kori Wancheck averaged over 1.3 strikeouts per inning this spring for the Northwestern softball team.
Kori Wancheck averaged over 1.3 strikeouts per inning this spring for the Northwestern softball team. Special to The Herald

Two Northwestern Trojans have been awarded statewide player of the year honors.

The South Carolina Coaches Association of Women’s Sports named Northwestern senior Kori Wancheck as the state’s 4A softball player of the year on Monday.

Wancheck had a huge season in leading the Trojans to within a pair of wins of the state championship series. She struck out 241 batters in nearly 184 innings of pitching, producing a 0.92 earned run average and limiting opponents to a .159 batting average. And the USC Upstate signee was just as effective hitting, with seven home runs, 33 RBIs and a .512 batting average the proof. Northwestern coach Bryan Smith added that Wancheck is a finalist for the state’s Gatorade player of the year honor as well, which will be announced June 4.

Dupree Hart joined his classmate in garnering a statewide award on Tuesday, capping one of the best high school baseball careers that the city of Rock Hill has seen. Hart, who will play baseball at College of Charleston next school year, was named the 4A player of the year by the South Carolina Baseball Coaches Association.

Hart batted .476 with two home runs and 29 RBIs. He also stole 15 bases, and was a defensive standout at shortstop for the Trojans, who fell in the finals of the Upper State championship series.

Other locals named to the SCBCA’s all-state teams on Tuesday include Nation Ford’s Clay Hunt and Rock Hill’s Zach Carter (4A), Chester’s Trent Autry (3A) and Lewisville’s Evan Sisk (1A).

Baseball All-State


Josh Church – Ashley Ridge; Thomas Jones – Laurens; Dupree Hart – Northwestern; Bryce Leasure – J.L. Mann; Mitchell Mikes – J.L. Mann; Jack Stamler – J.L. Mann; Hank Nichols – J.L. Mann; Chris Crawford – Sumter; Hunter Lipscomb – Boiling Springs; Jacob Hennessy – Boiling Springs; Clay Hunt – Nation Ford; Andrew Brong – Carolina Forest; Patrick Orlando – Carolina Forest; Jeff Gottesman – Wando; Noah LoCascio – Wando; Zach Carter – Rock Hill; TJ Hopkins- Summerville; Charlie Fessler – Summerville; Adam Hill – T.L. Hanna; TJ Shook – Dutch Fork; Brandon Tillman – River Bluff; Dylan Thompson – Socastee; Austin Schmitz – Socastee; Rashad Byrd – North Augusta; Patrick Finklestein – James Island; Cordes Baker – Lexington; Ben Peden – Greenville; Grant Cox – Greenville; Andrew Cook - Blythewood.

4A Player of the Year – Dupree Hart, Northwestern

4A Coach of the Year – Brian Simpson, J.L. Mann


Melquan Depough – Darlington; Cole Irick – Camden; Praise Thorsen – Myrtle Beach; Ryan Knowles – Gilbert; Patrick Price – Gilbert; Caleb Watkins – Gilbert; Jake Muller – Richland Northeast; Donald Gillespie – A.C. Flora; Elijah Henderson – Blue Ridge; Bradley Meckely – Hanahan; Jacob Shirey – Airport; Trent Autry – Chester; Jake Crawford – Belton-Honea Path; Dax Roper – Belton-Honea Path; Blake Holliday – Belton-Honea Path; Dylan Spence – Belton-Honea Path; Toby Burchfield – Hartsville; Andrew Coker – Hartsville; Austin Morris – Hartsville; Mat Clark – Hilton Head; Joe Glauser – Berkeley; Sheldon Reed- Emerald.

3A Player of the Year – Jake Crawford, Belton-Honea Path

3A Coach of the Year – Ashley Burnett, Gilbert


Graham Lawson – Woodruff; Jay Newell – Johnsonville; Patrick Herring – Dillon; Tristen Campbell – Cheraw; Evan Flynn – Buford; Eric Miles – Buford; Jacob Childress – Ninety Six; Brandon Pruitt – Ninety Six; Bryce Bearden – Ninety Six; Austin Fogle – Pelion; Dante Blakeney – Central; Trey Sowell – Central; Kipp Rollings – Andrew Jackson; Ryne Huggins – Newberry; Jeffery Brown – Bishop England; Danton Hyman – Mic-Carolina; Ryan Stoudemire – Mid-Carolina; Levi Almond – Waccamaw; Tucker Perry – Waccamaw; Tyler Bowers – North Central; Mitchell Cobb – Batesburg-Leesville; Christoper Bone – Andrews; Chase Barbary – Powdersville.

2A Player of the Year – Jacob Childress, Ninety Six

2A Coach of the Year – Chad Ellis, Ninety Six


Weston Rogers – Lake View; Carson Rogers – Lake View; Josh Price – Lake View; Tyshawn Allen – Williston Elko; Cameron Shiffner – Wagener-Salley; Jon Gibson – Ridge Spring Monetta; Garrett Zeigler – Bamberg Ehrhardt; Jackson – Williams – Latta; J.K. Love – Latta; Austin Miller – Latta; Harrison Hawkins – McBee; Adam Hane – Fox Creek; Dalton Swires – Fox Creek; Cory Lucas – Fox Creek; Brandyn Quiller – Fox Creek; Mike Ray – Fox Creek; Alex Ellison – Whitmire; Austin Jenkins – Whitmire; Chase Hood – Whitmire; Evan Sisk – Lewisville; Parker Vause – Lamar; Sean McDermott – St. Joseph’s.

1A Player of the Year – J.K. Love, Latta

1A Coach of the Year – Wesley Brown, Fox Creek

Coach of the Year (all classifications) – Steve Williams, Belton-Honea Path.

Success for Rhino wrestling at Southeast Regionals

Two wrestlers from Rhino Wrestling Club placed at the USA Wrestling Southeast Regionals in Atlanta, over Memorial Day weekend.

It was the second year running that Rhino wrestling had wrestlers medal in the prestigious tournament. Bella Hoffman took second place in the novice girls 70-pound freestyle division, winning her first match by pin before losing in the finals to an opponent from Puerto Rico.

Rodrick Whitlock continued his impressive freestyle season by advancing to the semifinals before finishing sixth in the cadet 132-pound weight class. His weight class was one of the toughest in the tournament, with 26 wrestlers from 10 different states competing.