High School Sports

Rock Hill, South Pointe ninth at state cross-country meet

Paxton finishes fourth, Rock Hill and South Pointe finish ninth at state championships

The Rock Hill and South Pointe boys and the Indian Land girls cross country teams were the highest local finishersat the 2015 state cross-country championships Saturday at the Sandhills Research Center.

The Bearcats boys team finished ninth in4A, led by junior Joey Teachout, who finished 30th overall in 16:46.

Wando won the boys 4A race followed by Wade Hampton and Riverside.

Ben Clark of Clover was the highest local finisher in the boys 4A race at 19th in 16:26.

Nation Ford’s boys team finished 18th, led by sophomore Malcolm McClain, who finished 37th in 16:59.

Carson Howe, Northwestern’s lone boys representative,49th and Fort Mill’s lone boys representative Cameron Smith finished 52nd.

In the girls 4A race, Nation Ford’s Marlena Schwinhorst earned All-State honors with her 10th place finish in 19:29 to lead all local runners.

The Nation Ford girls finished 13th. The Rock Hill girls finished 16th, led by sophomore runner Lanie Jo Knight, who finished 26th in 20:05.

The Fort Mill girl’s team finished 19th, led by eighth-grader Abigail Dawson, who finished 75th in 21:14.

Riverside won the 4A girls state championfollowed by Dutch Fork and James Island.

In the 3A boys race, South Pointe finished ninth.

In the girls’ 3A race, South Pointe senior Olivia Paxton finished fourth at 19:03. The South Pointe girls team finished 15th.

“I am really disappointed,” she said. “I was expecting a top three, but it was better than last year. My second mile I ran well, but then I couldn’t hold on for the hill.”

Hilton Head won the boys and girls state titles in the 3A races.

At the 2A girls’ race, Indian Land’s Lauren Sizemore finished third in 20:08 as the Warriors finished fourth overall.

The Indian Land boys team finished ninth, led by junior Austin St. John, who finished ninthin 17:12.

The 2A state boys champions was Academic Magnet and the 2A girls state champions was Waccamaw.