High School Football

Former Northwestern Trojan claims ‘South Carolina Heisman’

Mason Rudolph is preparing for the 2018 NFL Draft in southern California.
Mason Rudolph is preparing for the 2018 NFL Draft in southern California. AP

Did you know South Carolina has its own version of the Heisman Trophy?

The Blanchard-Rogers Trophy is given out each year by the South Carolina Football Hall of Fame. This year’s honoree: former Northwestern Trojan Mason Rudolph.

Rudolph threw for over 4,900 yards and 37 touchdowns in his final year at Oklahoma State. He led the nation in several passing categories and helped the Cowboys to a third consecutive 10-win season, the first such run in school history. Numerous NFL mock drafts have Rudolph getting picked in the first round of the 2018 draft.

Rudolph will claim his Blanchard-Rogers Trophy April 19 at a ceremony in Greenville.

In addition to the South Carolina Heisman, Rudolph also won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award (nation’s top senior QB), the Fellowship of Christian Athletes’ Bobby Bowden Award, and was a finalist for the Davey O’Brien Award (best college QB). He’s also still in the final three for the Jason Witten Collegiate Man of the Year Award.

Any South Carolina high school football product playing in college, or any college player playing in South Carolina is eligible for the Blanchard-Rogers Award. Former Clemson QB Deshaun Watson won the award in 2016 and 2015. Clemson Tigers Vic Beasley and Tajh Boyd are the other two recipients.

Related stories from Rock Hill Herald