Municipal elections: A big day for incumbents, a key change in the city of York

Voters cast ballots Tuesday at Unity Presbyterian Church in Fort Mill.
Voters cast ballots Tuesday at Unity Presbyterian Church in Fort Mill. tkimball@heraldonline.com

A snapshot of the unofficial results show plenty of incumbents winning, and one familiar mayor losing, after Tuesday’s municipal elections in York County.

Voter turnout appeared was light. Out of almost 34,000 registered voters, about 5,500 ballots were cast.

The York County Board of Voter Registration and Elections will meet Thursday to certify the election results. There will be a public ballot hearing at 10 a.m. at the York County elections office, 6 S. Congress Street in York.

To see the unofficial results go to the York County voter registration and elections website.

Town of Fort Mill

Fort Mill Mayor Guynn Savage leads newcomer Bret McNabb, who made news as one of several parents who oppose the construction of a new gas station near Doby’s Bridge Elementary School. Savage got about 61% of the vote and McNabb about 38%.

In Fort Mill, 2,443 votes were cast and voter turnout was less than 17%

For Ward 4, incumbent Chris Moody received 69% of the vote, while newcomer Marc DeJesus got about 30%. Incumbent Ronnie Helms ran unopposed for Ward 2.

Incumbent Lisa Cook leads two challengers for the at-large council seat. Cook received about 52% of the vote. She ran against former York County Council chair Mike Short, who got about 26% of the vote and newcomer Rick Hayes, who received about 23%.

City of Tega Cay

Five candidates ran for two Tega Cay council seats. Incumbents Gus Matchunis and Ryan Richard lead newcomers Walt Krasinski, Carmen Wells and Tammy Lacher. For the two seats, 2,604 votes were cast.

Matchunis received about 37% of the vote and Richard got about 24% of the vote. Lacher got about 16% of the vote and Wells got about 15%. Krasinski received about 7%.

Town of Clover

Clover Mayor Greg Holmes ran unopposed.

In the mayoral race, 701 votes were cast and there were 323 write-ins.

Nine candidates ran to fill six town council seats; 3,306 votes were cast.

Incumbents Wes Spurrier, Chris Farris and Teresa Hurst, and newcomers Keon Barber, Martha Bratton and Amy Nivens lead challengers Ashley Pannell, Scott Shuler and Raymond Bayly.

Incumbents Todd Blanton and Debbie Pee Wee Williams withdrew from the race.

City of York

The city elected a new mayor. Council member Mike Fuesser received about 53% of the vote, while Mayor Eddie Lee got 47% of the vote. In the race, 758 votes were cast.

Marion Ramsey leads two challengers for the Dist. 3 seat. Ramsey received about 50%. Ramsey ran against Ben Jones, who got 19% of the vote, and Marvin Long, who got 30% of the vote.

Stephanie Jarrett ran unopposed to take Fuesser’s seat in Dist. 4, and incumbent Edward Brown ran unopposed for the Dist. 2 seat.

Uncontested races

Hickory Grove had Larry Earl running for mayor and Ollie Bankhead, Kyle Wyatt, Harry Good and Kevin Faulkner running for town council.

In McConnells, Agnes Love ran for mayor. Bill Nance, John Nelson, Bill Covington and Liz Christenberry ran for town council.

Smyrna had Chris Faulkner running for mayor with Amy Myott, Robert Jackson, Robert Faulkner and Robert Faulkner, Jr. running for town council.

In Sharon, Beverly Blair ran for mayor, and Herschel Brown Jr., Jerry Bradham, Thomas Childers and Bob Barnette ran for town council.

Rock Hill

Rock Hill held its municipal election last month.

Newcomer Derrick Lindsay won the Ward 1 seat. Incumbents Kathy Pender and Kevin Sutton respectively won Ward 2 and 3 city council seats.

Related stories from Rock Hill Herald

Cailyn Derickson is a city government and politics reporter for The Herald, covering York, Chester and Lancaster counties. Cailyn graduated from The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She has previously worked at The Pilot and The News and Observer.