School starts today in York, Chester, Lancaster counties. Here are some things to know.

School starts Monday for York, Lancaster and Chester County students.

Local districts have prepared for 2019-2020 with leadership changes, the opening of a new school and heightened security.

Here are some things you should know:

Rock Hill

New leaders:

Rock Hill school board members approved multiple leadership changes earlier this year:

  • Dan Blackburn was named dean of students.
  • Saluda Trail Middle School’s new assistant principal is Aaron Clark.

  • Kenneth Crump is the new assistant principal at Rawlinson Road Middle School.

  • Amber Handy was named assistant principal at Dutchman Creek Middle School.

  • Derek Johnson is the new assistant principal at York Road Elementary School.

  • Kay Runyans was named dean of students.

  • Jessica Wren was named assistant principal at Rock Hill High School.

Several Rock Hill leaders moved to other schools for 2019-20 and new people were hired:

  • Nakia Barnes moved to Sunset Park Center for Accelerated Studies.

  • Jackie Jones now leads Mt. Holly Holly Elementary School.

  • Crystal Guyton moved to York Road Elementary School.

  • Christopher Roorda moved to India Hook Elementary.

  • Patrick Robinson now leads Finley Road Elementary.

  • Kim Nordin is now assistant principal at Northside Elementary School of the Arts.

  • Takela Burns is assistant principal at Mt. Gallant Elementary School.

  • Sheleea Leonard was named assistant principal at Ebenezer Avenue Elementary.

  • Beau Modla is assistant principal at Dutchman Creek Middle School.

  • Marek Marshall is assistant principal at South Pointe High School.

  • Chris Curtis is assistant principal at Northwestern High School.

  • Sgt. Michael Johnson of the Rock Hill Police Department is the new director of safety and security for the district.

  • Tonya Belton is the director of federal programs.

  • ShaQueena McLaughlin was named the Multi-Tiered System of Support Specialist.



New leaders:

Fort Mill

New leaders:

  • Marc Pyrc has been named Banks Trail Middle School’s principal.

  • Ren Patel is the new director of Fort Mill High School bands.

  • Adam Fantone is the new principal of Springfield Elementary School.

  • Jad Griffin was named principal of Fort Mill Elementary School.

  • Leaders were chosen for Fort Mill’s newest elementary schools. Jocelyn Young will lead Kings Town Elementary School. Peter Olinger was chosen as principal for River Trail Elementary School.

Lancaster County

Chester County

Related stories from Rock Hill Herald

Amanda Harris covers issues related to children and families in York, Chester and Lancaster County for The Herald. Amanda works with local schools, parents and community members to address important topics such as school security, mental health and the opioid epidemic. She graduated from Winthrop University.
Support my work with a digital subscription